top of page
Hikaru No Go - Me Trying to Convince You The Live Action Did It Better.

Aug 20

3 min read

When we think about what made Go popular among the western community, it's easy to point to big events like when AI began to take off and famously beat Lee Sedol in a series of games in 2016. However, I believe it's undeniable that the single biggest reason for Go's surge in popularity in the West is the anime Hikaru no Go. If you haven’t watched it yet, for whatever reason, I highly recommend doing so.


Hikaru no Go is a Japanese anime that aired between 2001 and 2003. It follows a boy named Hikaru who initially had no interest in Go but meets and forms a bond with a ghostly master of the game who has lived through others across time. The series played a huge role in bringing Go to a broader audience. As it definitely captivated myself in 2006 when I started playing.


In 2020, a live-action version of the series was produced in China. Some die-hard fans of the anime have been hesitant to watch it, understandably concerned that it might not live up to the beloved original. After all, live-action adaptations of anime have a notorious reputation for leaving fans disappointed.


But here’s the thing the live-action Hikaru no Go actually scored an 8.5 on IMDb. I know what you might be thinking: "We’re so starved for Go content that anything Go-related would get a high rating." But I believe there’s more to this adaptation than just filling a void for Go enthusiasts.


I’ve watched both the anime and the live-action adaptation over ten times, and honestly, the more I watch the live-action, the more I fall in love with the Chinese adaptation compared to the Japanese anime. Now, I’m not claiming the live-action is better in every single aspect, but I do think it advances the story in ways the anime didn’t.


For example, in the anime, the focus is heavily on Hikaru and Akira, with other characters often feeling secondary. However, the live-action gives more attention to the supporting cast, making them feel more integral to the story. Take Hikaru’s mother, for instance. In the anime, she comes across as pretty laid-back, almost indifferent to Hikaru’s activities. But in the live-action, her character is much more fleshed out. She feels like a real person with concerns and emotions, and her relationship with Hikaru is given more depth and significance. I don't know how many times in the anime I would have slapped Hikaru for his behavior if he were my son where his mother seemed to not really care. This all happens very differently in the live action.


Another major improvement is in the portrayal of Sai, one of the anime’s most beloved characters. While the anime does a good job of introducing Sai’s background, the live-action provides a deeper emotional understanding of what Sai went through. I hate to spoil anything but in the live action we actually get to meet a monk who gives us a little bit of insight as to why Sai is there and the way it teeter toters on telling us this is amazing to me. I would hate to spoil every moment where the live action captures your heart and I really recommend watching it for yourself.


Every episode in the live-action feels like it matters. While some fans loved the 75 episodes of the anime, I sometimes felt that certain matches or situations were drawn out to emphasize specific moments. Before watching the live-action, I also thought these extended scenes were great. However, the live-action manages to capture similar moments in a shorter time frame, delivering them just as beautifully if not more so. There’s something about seeing real people express emotions that resonates more deeply than animated characters, and the live-action adaptation truly captures this.


To sum up why I believe the live-action adaptation outshines the anime, it excels at capturing character emotions that felt really important to us as viewers. It goes deeper into characters backgrounds that we’ve come to know and love, providing a better understanding of their experiences. Additionally, it offers much-needed clarity in parts of the story that were left ambiguous in the anime. Personally, I found myself feeling more attached to the characters in the live action.


I will leave you with one last name before wrapping up this post "Yang Yan".


What do you think? Did you prefer the live action or the anime? Have you watched one but not the other?


Also would you be interested in reading my thoughts on other live action go related movies and making a top list out of it? Please let me know in the comment section and give this post a heart!

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page